Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Save the Drama for Yo' Mama

I don't understand the fascination with drama.  I am, admittedly (on occasion), a drama queen.  But I have striven to leave my dramatic ways behind me in college.  Of course I still have my drama llama moments but I have come to appreciate how much smoother things run without all the unnecessary hoopla.

With that being said, I ran into some familial drama last week that seemed to hit me out of no where.  I refused to be pulled into it, which only made B say that I wasn't standing up for myself.  But to me, maybe because I've always been the bigger person, it's easier just to let the person throw their temper tantrum and roll my eyes.  I've also never understood the pettiness that is sure to follow close after the initial fit.  The revoking of privileges long given, the snide remarks, the de-friending on facebook (gasp!).  Why can't you just say what you mean and mean what you say?  Why are all the theatrics needed?

Even now, as I write this I remember how ticked off I was last week and now I don't even care.  It's a non-issue.  The only reason that it even concerns me at all is because I will be visiting this person in the next couple of weeks and I don't want them causing unnecessary hostility on a vacation.  It's over, it's done...you won, I suppose if you want to call it that.  Let's be the adults we are and move on, but maybe that's just the grown up in me talking.

No comments:

Post a Comment